Jo is the author of a bunch of books, fiction, memoir and nonfiction/teaching. Each reflects her love for a good story and what she hopes readers might also love in a good book. Most are available via your local independent book shop or favorite online book seller; sadly, some have become, ahem, ‘rare books,’ meaning they are no longer in print. But don’t let that keep you from tracking them down and enjoying the journey!

To find out more about Jo’s books, please click on the book covers below.


Cover,WhenGirlsBecameLionsWhen Girls Became Lion, a novel                         co-authored with Valerie J. Gin                          Released September 2015.

Purchase here





The LIGHTFOOT TRILOGY (NavPress: 2006, 2007, 2008): Follow the trail of newspaper religion reporter Jonna Lightfoot McLaughlin as she looks for a good story and a good man, and can’t quite find either!

contentThe Lightfoot Trilogy #1: A Mile From Sunday

content-1The Lightfoot Trilogy #2: A Quarter After Tuesday

content-2The Lightfoot Trilogy #3: A Minute Before Friday

9781578568581The Sound of My Voice (Waterbrook Press: 2005)


9780801072260A Desperate Faith: Lessons on Hope from the Resurrection (Baker Books: 2010)

86040467Desperate Women of the Bible: Lessons on Passion from the Scriptures (Baker Books: 2006)

1813185Reckless Faith: Living Passionately as Imperfect Christians, A Study on the Life of Peter (Shaw Books: 2003)

bookcover.phpWinter Flowers: and Other Signs of Redemption (B & H Publishers: 2001)

2641339Feast of Life: Spiritual Food for Balanced Living (Baker Books: 1999)


6898197Woman Overboard: How Passion Saved My Life (Fresh Air Books: 2009)

1813186Fear: A Spiritual Navigation (Shaw Books: 2001)

1778773 I Call You Friend: Four Women’s Stories of Race, Faith and Friendship (B & H Publishers: 1999)


Resurrecting Hope with John Perkins (Regal Books: 1995)

A Lifetime of Positive Living with Ruth Stafford Peale (GuidePosts: 2001)

A Church Called Graffiti: Finding Grace on the Lower East Side with Taylor Field (B & H Publishers: 2001)